[Rd] options("quit.with.no.save"), and Windows installer changes

From: Duncan Murdoch <murdoch_at_stats.uwo.ca>
Date: Tue 04 Jul 2006 - 12:32:08 GMT


I've just committed a couple of changes to R-devel related to requests at userR about the Windows installer. The first of these affects all platforms, but I've only tested it on Windows:

I added an option "quit.with.no.save". If TRUE, then the default q("ask") prompt will not offer to save the workspace. This is in response to the observation that new users who are instructed not to save their workspace, get confused when they accidentally answer Yes to the prompt to save it.

I'm not sure about the wording of the user prompt question, which is now "Quit and discard workspace?". The problem with this wording is that someone who automatically hits "y" will lose their work. I've tried on Windows to make the dialog box look different enough that they should be warned.

I haven't made any change to the Mac GUI to support this. On Unix-alikes, the text prompt should respect this option.

The other change is to the Windows installer, to allow the user to choose whether to set quit.with.no.save, MDI/SDI display, and help style at install time. The only (intentional) change to the current behaviour is to default to CHM help instead of plain text.

These changes will show up in builds based on revision 38480 or later.

Duncan Murdoch



R-devel@r-project.org mailing list
https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-devel Received on Tue Jul 04 22:37:10 2006

Archive maintained by Robert King, hosted by the discipline of statistics at the University of Newcastle, Australia.
Archive generated by hypermail 2.1.8, at Tue 04 Jul 2006 - 18:25:25 GMT.

Mailing list information is available at https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help. Please read the posting guide before posting to the list.