[R] time zone conversion

From: McGehee, Robert <Robert.McGehee_at_geodecapital.com>
Date: Mon, 28 Apr 2008 16:27:27 -0400


Hello,

I'm trying to convert times in the EST/EDT (New York) format to times in the GMT/BST (London) and UTC+9 format (Tokyo). That is, if I know what time it is in New York, what is local time in London and Tokyo?

Ex:
Here's the conversion from New York EST/EDT time to London's GMT/BST time zone for three days in 2007. Note that the US and London change to daylight savings on different days (Tokyo doesn't use daylight savings at all), so this conversion is non-trivial.

2007-03-01 12:00:00 EST = 2007-03-01 17:00:00 GMT
2007-03-15 12:00:00 EDT = 2007-03-01 16:00:00 GMT
2007-04-01 12:00:00 EDT = 2007-03-01 17:00:00 BST

Is any of the time zone/daylight savings information coded up somewhere?

Thanks,
Robert

Robert McGehee, CFA
Geode Capital Management, LLC
One Post Office Square, 28th Floor | Boston, MA | 02109 Tel: 617/392-8396 Fax:617/476-6389
mailto:robert.mcgehee_at_geodecapital.com

This e-mail, and any attachments hereto, are intended fo...{{dropped:11}}



R-help_at_r-project.org mailing list
https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help PLEASE do read the posting guide http://www.R-project.org/posting-guide.html and provide commented, minimal, self-contained, reproducible code. Received on Mon 28 Apr 2008 - 20:40:04 GMT

Archive maintained by Robert King, hosted by the discipline of statistics at the University of Newcastle, Australia.
Archive generated by hypermail 2.2.0, at Mon 28 Apr 2008 - 22:30:32 GMT.

Mailing list information is available at https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help. Please read the posting guide before posting to the list.

list of date sections of archive