Re: [R] time zone conversion

From: Prof Brian Ripley <ripley_at_stats.ox.ac.uk>
Date: Mon, 28 Apr 2008 22:14:42 +0100 (BST)

The POSIXct/lt functions do this (provided your OS is up to it).

> x <- c("2007-03-01 12:00:00", "2007-03-15 12:00:00",

          "2007-04-01 12:00:00")
> xx <- as.POSIXct(x, tz="EST5EDT")
> format(xx, tz="Europe/London")

[1] "2007-03-01 17:00:00" "2007-03-15 16:00:00" "2007-04-01 17:00:00"

> format(xx, "%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S %Z", tz="Europe/London")
[1] "2007-03-01 17:00:00 GMT" "2007-03-15 16:00:00 GMT" [3] "2007-04-01 17:00:00 BST" That's Linux, but R 2.7.0 under Windows can do this too (except it labels time zones by Windows' names in the last case).

On Mon, 28 Apr 2008, McGehee, Robert wrote:

> Hello,
>
> I'm trying to convert times in the EST/EDT (New York) format to times in
> the GMT/BST (London) and UTC+9 format (Tokyo). That is, if I know what
> time it is in New York, what is local time in London and Tokyo?
>
> Ex:
> Here's the conversion from New York EST/EDT time to London's GMT/BST
> time zone for three days in 2007. Note that the US and London change to
> daylight savings on different days (Tokyo doesn't use daylight savings
> at all), so this conversion is non-trivial.
>
> 2007-03-01 12:00:00 EST = 2007-03-01 17:00:00 GMT
> 2007-03-15 12:00:00 EDT = 2007-03-01 16:00:00 GMT
> 2007-04-01 12:00:00 EDT = 2007-03-01 17:00:00 BST
Don't think so .....

>
> Is any of the time zone/daylight savings information coded up somewhere?
>
> Thanks,
> Robert
>
> Robert McGehee, CFA
> Geode Capital Management, LLC
> One Post Office Square, 28th Floor | Boston, MA | 02109
> Tel: 617/392-8396 Fax:617/476-6389
> mailto:robert.mcgehee_at_geodecapital.com
>
>
>
> This e-mail, and any attachments hereto, are intended fo...{{dropped:11}}
>
> ______________________________________________
> R-help_at_r-project.org mailing list
> https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help
> PLEASE do read the posting guide http://www.R-project.org/posting-guide.html
> and provide commented, minimal, self-contained, reproducible code.
>

-- 
Brian D. Ripley,                  ripley_at_stats.ox.ac.uk
Professor of Applied Statistics,  http://www.stats.ox.ac.uk/~ripley/
University of Oxford,             Tel:  +44 1865 272861 (self)
1 South Parks Road,                     +44 1865 272866 (PA)
Oxford OX1 3TG, UK                Fax:  +44 1865 272595

______________________________________________
R-help_at_r-project.org mailing list
https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help
PLEASE do read the posting guide http://www.R-project.org/posting-guide.html
and provide commented, minimal, self-contained, reproducible code.
Received on Mon 28 Apr 2008 - 21:41:16 GMT

Archive maintained by Robert King, hosted by the discipline of statistics at the University of Newcastle, Australia.
Archive generated by hypermail 2.2.0, at Mon 28 Apr 2008 - 22:30:32 GMT.

Mailing list information is available at https://stat.ethz.ch/mailman/listinfo/r-help. Please read the posting guide before posting to the list.

list of date sections of archive